It is against the law for a child under what age to ride in the open bed of a truck or trailer? | AnsweredOn October 7, 2017 by trailerisle
One of the more common questions asked when regarding the open bed at the back of a truck is as follows; it is against the law for a child under what age to ride in the open bed of a truck or trailer? Well, it’s a simple question that follows Texan law and is easy to answer.
8 years old.
The law of Texas states that a child must be over the age of 8 to be legally allowed to ride in the back of an open bed truck without facing any form of punishment. This is a super common question if you are looking at taking your driving license in the states of Texas. In fact, it is an extremely popular question in many different states driving tests through the United States and Canada. Remember, what we have stated here is only applicable to the state of Texas, so do not answer this if you are taking the test for a different states or a different country.
Another question that you might face whilst you are taking your truck driving license within Texas is this; what is the minimum height to ride in the open bed of a truck or trailer? Well, another simple question to answer;
4 feet 9 inches.
This is the bare minimum that a child’s height must be before they can be in the back of a pick up truck in Texas. This is definitely not worth risking if your child is shorter than this as the police can be very strict in this state and you don’t want to risk losing your licence or getting a big fine from the government.
An example of how strict the law can be in Texas is this judge that looked into the sanction law and found it was far stricter than what was necessary. The judge did end up changing the law but it is an example of how strict some of these law can be, which is quite upsetting if you really think about it.